MINUTES HAWAII STATE BAR ASSOCIATION BOARD MEETING

Iolani Palace Grounds, Kanaina Building Honolulu, HI 96813

Thursday, December 22, 2016

A. CALL TO ORDER

President Jodi Yi called the meeting to order at 12:55 p.m. with a quorum present. The following persons were present for all or part of the meeting:

Officers Present Jodi Yi Nadine Ando Howard Luke Russ Awakuni Mark M. Murakami

Directors Present Cecelia Chang Steven Chow Rebecca Copeland Rhonda Griswold Geraldine Hasegawa Kristin Izumi-Nitao Derek Kobayashi Mei-Fei Kuo Kai Lawrence Georgia McMillen Lisa Munger Mark K. Murakami Ryan Hew

<u>Board Members Absent</u> Vladimir Devens Carol Kitaoka Alika Piper <u>HSBA Staff</u> Patricia Mau-Shimizu Iris Ito Christina Bae Levi Hookano

Others Present James Kawachika

- B. **APPROVAL OF MINUTES** A motion was made, seconded, and carried without opposition to approve the minutes of the Board meeting of November 17, 2016 with an amendment to correct the spelling of Chief Justice Recktenwald's last name.
- C. **TREASURER'S REPORT** Treasurer Mark M. Murakami reported that the special reserves budgeted for technology enhancements will be utilized due to necessary work related to the online attorney renewal form and other enhancements to the membership database. He stated that a \$200k surplus is anticipated at year end.
- D. **EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR'S REPORT** Executive Director Patricia Mau-Shimizu reported on the following items:
 - Mortgage Prepayment: Due to unspent funds in 2016 on various budgeted items line, a prepayment of \$100k will be made on the mortgage balance.
 - Attorney Renewal 2017: Currently 1,000 less members have renewed compared to this time last year.
- E. **YLD PRESIDENT'S REPORT** YLD President Ryan Hew reported that the YLD Board passed a resolution addressing transparency issues related to YLD travel reimbursement policies. He also thanked the Board for allowing YLD participation at the HSBA Board level and letting him recruit volunteers for the YLD service projects.

F. NEW BUSINESS

1. Board Vacancies

a. Hawaii Access to Justice Commission

Action taken: A motion was made, seconded, and carried without opposition to adopt the HSBA Nominating Committee's recommendation to reappoint Derek Kobayashi and newly appoint Judge Trudy Senda (ret.) to a 3-year term on the Hawaii Access to Justice Commission beginning January 1, 2017. Director Derek Kobayashi abstained from voting.

b. Hawaii State Bar Foundation (HSBF)

Action taken: A motion was made, seconded, and carried without opposition to adopt the HSBA Nominating Committee's recommendation to reappoint Caryn Okinaga, Rosemarie Sam, and Jeffrey Sia to a 3-year term on the HSBF Board beginning January 1, 2017.

2. <u>Appointments to Hawaii State Trial Judges Association-HSBA (fka</u> <u>Bench-Bar) Committee</u>

Action taken: A motion was made, seconded, and carried without opposition to ratify President Yi's appointment of the following attorney members on the 2017 HSTJA-HSBA Committee, in addition to herself and President-elect Nadine Ando, who are automatic appointments: Russ Awakuni, Robert Frija, Daniel Kim, Scott Leong, Laurel Loo, Jonathan Ortiz, and Andrew Park. It was noted that President Yi will be the attorney co-chair on the committee.

3. Executive Director Employment Agreement (in executive session)

Action taken: A motion was made, seconded, and carried without opposition to authorize President Jodi Yi to sign the employment agreement for Executive Director Patricia Mau-Shimizu for the 2017-2018 period.

G. INFORMATION

 Judicial Selection Commission Chair James Kawachika announced that he anticipates that judicial appointments of the ICA position and 3 Circuit Court positions will be made by the appointing authorities by mid-February, which will be followed by 3 District Court appointments. He further explained the timing of the release of the lists from the JSC to the appointing authority.

H. ADJOURNMENT

The meeting adjourned at 2:05 p.m.

Submitted by:

mu Chimis

Patricia Mau-Shimizu HSBA Executive Director

Approved by:

uss & Anne -0

Russ S. Awakuni HSBA Secretary