MINUTES HAWAII STATE BAR ASSOCIATION BOARD MEETING

1100 Alakea Street, Suite 1000 Honolulu, HI 96813

Thursday, August 24, 2017

A. CALL TO ORDER

President Nadine Ando called the meeting to order at 12:07 p.m. with a quorum present. The following persons were present for all or part of the meeting:

Officers Present Nadine Ando Howard Luke Derek Kobayashi Russ Awakuni Karin Holma <u>HSBA Staff</u> Patricia Mau-Shimizu Iris Ito Christina Bae

Directors Present Cecelia Chang Steven Chow Vladimir Devens Rhonda Griswold Geraldine Hasegawa Kristin Izumi-Nitao Mei-Fei Kuo Zale Okazaki Alika Piper Shannon Sheldon Trejur Bordenave (by phone)

Board Members Absent Rebecca Copeland Carol Kitaoka Kai Lawrence Lisa Munger Mark K. Murakami

- B. **APPROVAL OF MINUTES** A motion was made, seconded, and carried without opposition to approve the minutes of the July 27, 2017 Board meeting.
- C. **TREASURER'S REPORT** Director of Operations Christina Bae reported that as of July 31, 2017, HSBA is on track for the year.
- D. **EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR'S REPORT** Executive Director Patricia Mau-Shimizu reported on the following items:
 - Judicial appointments for the Third Circuit will be announced soon by Gov. Ige.
 - Annual Dinner Board members who helped transport silent auction items were thanked for their time and efforts. Net income from the Dinner will be reported at next month's meeting.
 - Bar Convention on October 18th Five companies have committed to an exhibitor table at the higher levels; 1 member benefit provider will provide tote bags. Judge Rupa Goswami of the Superior Court of Los Angeles County will give her keynote address on violence against minorities after 9-11.
 - Courts in the Community Set for November 9th in Hilo and December 14th in Windward, Oahu.
- E. **YLD PRESIDENT'S REPORT** YLD President Trejur Bordenave reported on the following items:
 - Junior Judges Scheduled for October 18-22nd. Looking for a volunteer to fly to Molokai.
 - Mock Trial Preparing this project.
- F. UNFINISHED BUSINESS None.

G. NEW BUSINESS

- Explanation of HSBA Reserve Policy Director, and former Treasurer, Alika Piper gave an overview of the reserve policy and an explanation of the categories of reserves and its purpose.
- 2. <u>2018 Goal Group Funding Requests</u> This item will be on the September board agenda for review and action.

3. HSBA Annual Awards

Action taken: A motion was made, seconded, and carried without opposition to adopt the Awards Committee's recommendation to present the HSBA Annual Awards at the luncheon at the Bar Convention to the following individuals:

Champion for Social Justice Award (courageous legal work in the face of public controversy that helps promote the interests of justice and preserves the integrity of the judiciary) - Douglas S. Chin

- Greeley Key Award for Innovation (out-of-the-box legal work that involves) promoting new and creative uses of, or approaches to, the law as a positive force in our community or world (pushing the envelope in how the legal system might help bring about a better future) - Mark T. Shklov
- Ki'e Ki'e Award (outstanding provision of professional legal services at no charge to the reicipient) - Dawn Slaten
- Malama Hawaii Award (outstanding non-legal community service activities) - Timothy Lui-Kwan (posthumous)

Additionally, President Ando made the following selection:

President's Award (extraordinary contributions and lifetime achievement) that best exemplify the mission of the HSBA: to unite and inspire Hawaii's lawyers to promote justice, serve the public, and improve the legal profession) - Judge Ronald Ibarra

4. Appointment/Reappointment to Hawaii State Board of CLE (aka MCLE **Board**)

Action taken: A motion was made, seconded, and carried without opposition to adopt the Nominating Committee's recommendation to reappoint the following individuals to the MCLE Board for 3-year terms beginning October 2, 2017: Susan Arnett, David Fitzpatrick, and Marie Gavigan.

Η. ADJOURNMENT

The meeting adjourned at 12:41 p.m.

Submitted by:

Patricia Mau-Shimizu **HSBA Executive Director**

Approved by:

Russ S. Awakuni HSBA Secretary